

Nominees announced for Top Women in Business and Government Awards



A wide selection of prominent women have been nominated as finalists in the 2005 Top Women in Business and Government Awards, which take place on 10 August 2005.



Extensive research into South Africa's leading woman-owned, woman-run and gender empowerment companies and into South Africa's leading women across the public and private sector, has seen the best represented in this year's awards.



The awards are hosted in conjunction with the Top Women in Business and Government's conference, themed 'Women Creating Wealth - Leadership in Business', which takes place the day after the awards and is sponsored by Standard Bank.

Topics for the conference include harnessing the opportunities of BEE; the value of diversity in human capital; international gender empowerment policy trends, Gender in the Budget 2005 and how South Africa's Financial Services Industry is Servicing Women.

The nominees for Top Businesswoman of the Year, taken from the Category of Top Four Women Business Personalities of the Year, are Gloria Serobe; Brenda McQueen; Christine Ramon; Dr Danisa Baloyi; Futhi Mtoba; Nunu Ntshingila; Wendy Luhabe; Wrenelle Stander; Zarina Bassa; Jane Raphaely and Hixonia Nyasulu.



The

Noeleen of 3 Talk

category of Top 4 Woman in Government and Govt Agencies sees South Africa's leading public officials in the following sub-categories nominated:

National Ministers

Minister Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma: Foreign Affairs

Minister Stella Sigcau: Public Works

Minister Geraldine Fraser-Moloketi: Public Service/Administration

Minister Thoko Didiza: Agriculture and Land Affairs

Minister Buyelwa Patience Sonjica: Water Affairs and Forestry (Former) Minister Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka: Minerals and Energy

Minister Brigitte Sylvia Mabandla: Justice and Constitutional Development

Minister Lindiwe Nonceba Sisulu: Housing Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula: Home Affairs

Minister Mantombazana Tshabalala-Msimang: Health

Minister Naledi Pandor: Education

Minister Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri: Communications

National Deputy Ministers

(Former) Deputy Minister Lindiwe Hendricks: the Department of Trade & Industry

Deputy Minister Sue van der Merwe: the Department of Foreign Affairs Deputy Minister Cheryl Gillwald: the Department of Correctional Services

Deputy Minister Jean Benjamin: Social Development

Deputy Minister Ntombazana Gertrude Winifred Botha: Arts and Culture Deputy Minister Nomatyala Hangana: Provincial and Local Government

Deputy Minister Rejoice Thizwilondi Mabudafhasi: Environmental Affairs and Tourism

Deputy Minister Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge: Health Deputy Minister Susan Shabangu: Safety and Security Deputy Minister Lulama Xingwana: Minerals and Energy

Provincial & Local Government Premiers

Zisiwe Nosimo Beauty Balindlela: Eastern Cape Premier

Beatrice Marshoff: Free State Premier Ednah Molewa: North West Premier

Elizabeth Dipuo Peters: Northern Cape Premier

Government Agencies and Parastatals

Raisibe Morathi: Chief Operating Officer: IDC
Thembi Nwedamutswu: Chief Executive Officer: IDT
Alice Nomvuyiso Damane: Chief Executive Officer: SEDA

This year's awards sees the introduction of three new categories: Top Gender-CSI Company of the Year, Top Company to Work for as a Woman and Top Female Leader of Tomorrow. The remaining categories look at the Top 5 Companies that Promote Women, the Top Emerging Woman-Owned Company and then the Top Woman-Owned Company, Top Entrepreneur, Top Success Story and the Top Young Achiever in Government.

The awards will be held at the Emperor's Palace in Gauteng to coincide with the National Women's Day celebrations. Hosted by Leanne Manas, with speeches by The Top Business Woman 2004, Wendy Lucas-Bull and Top Woman in Government 2004, Cheryl Carolus.

To find out more about the Awards categories, criteria, judges and nominees, contact Ilse Fourie on 021 441 2500 or email

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com