🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

New WASPA Management Committee announced

The 2012 Management Committee (Mancom) of the Wireless Application Service Providers' Association of SA (WASPA) has been announced and is much the same as before, save for the inclusion of Ryan Birkin who takes over from Gavin Penkin.



While the names of the members of WASPA's Mancom for 2012 and the portfolios and working groups they will be responsible for are largely unchanged, members say that their increased joint experience will stand the association in good stead as its promotes its mandate of encouraging mobile uptake.

"South African mobile users will only explore the mobile content and applications offered by WASPA members if they feel comfortable and secure doing so.

"This means WASPA will continue promoting the industry as well as enforcing and refining its Code of Conduct," said WASPA chairman Leon Perlman.

New face

The new face on the WASPA mancom is Ryan Birkin, who becomes chairman of the Public Relations Working Group. "I am excited to represent WASPA, and our member WASPs, at a very public level. It is clear that both mobile consumers and the mobile industry are interested in what WASPA has to say. We will work hard to keep the two-way flow of communication open this year," said Birkin, who is currently interactive director of eXactmobile.

The other 2012 Mancom members, together with their areas of responsibility, are:

- Smartcall Technology Solutions' Janene Matsukis will chair the Networks Working Group together with Ryan Birkin
- Casper de Villiers, Clickatell's co-founder and operations director, has again taken on the responsibility of chairing the Finance Working Group. He has more a decade of experience in the WASP environment and is Clickatell's representative at the GSM Association. De Villiers has served on the WASPA Code of Conduct Working Group in the

past.

- Leon Perlman, the founder of WASPA, is again taking the role of chairman as well as of chairman of the Regulatory Working Group. A former scientist, he has been in the telecommunications industry since the early 1990s. WASPA's founder and chairman since 2004, Perlman has also served on the WASPA's regulatory portfolio since the organisation was established.
- Dieter van Rooyen, currently the operations director of Integrat, one of the largest mobile VAS aggregators in South Africa, will chair the Aggregators Working Group.
- Deon van Heerden, chief operating officer of ViaMedia, is an entrepreneur and technology professional with more than 17 years of experience working with Fortune 500 companies in a number of countries. He will chair the Membership Working Group.
- Russel Stromin, an industry veteran with more than 20 years of experience in the technology industry and head of Strike Media, will chair the Code of Conduct Working Group.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com