

President Zuma appoints judges

PRETORIA: President Jacob Zuma has appointed 12 judges to the various Divisions of the High Court, upon the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission.



The appointments come into effect from 15 February 2013.

The following judges have been appointed:

- Honourable Justice Achmat Naaim Jappie as Deputy Judge President of the KwaZulu-Natal High Courts,
 Pietermaritzburg and Durban;
- Adv. Murray John Lowe SC, as a Judge of the Eastern Cape High Court, Port Elizabeth;
- Buyiswa Majiki as a Judge of the Eastern Cape High Court, Mthatha and Port Elizabeth, based at the High Court, Mthatha;
- Adv. David Stephanus Fourie SC as a Judge of the North and South Gauteng High Courts, Pretoria and Johannesburg;
- Judith Innes Cloete as a Judge of the Western Cape High Court, Cape Town;
- Mokgoatji Josiah Dolamo as a Judge of the Western Cape High Court, Cape Town;
- Babalwa Pearl Mantame as a Judge of the Western Cape High Court, Cape Town;
- Adv. Owen Lloyd Rogers SC as a Judge of the Western Cape High Court, Cape Town;
- Adv. Ashton Schippers SC as a Judge of the Western Cape High Court, Cape Town;
- Honourable Justice Basheer Waglay as Judge President of the Labour Courts;
- Honourable Justice Dimpheletse Seun Stanley Moshidi as a Judge of the Electoral Court; and
- Honourable Justice Willem Lötter Wepener as a Judge of the Electoral Court.

According to the Presidency, these appointments were made after due consideration of all the factors and circumstances which were brought to the attention of the President, in the course of making his decision.

"I wish to congratulate the new appointees and wish them well in the discharge of their mandate of giving full expression to the letter and ethos of our Constitution, as we strive together to create a democratic society where the rights of all persons are respected and protected," said President Zuma.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com