BIZCOMMUNITY

Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2018 winners announced!

The Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2018 winners have been announced, with Bongani Fuzile of Daily Dispatch named *Journalist of the Year* on Thursday evening, 13 September, at the Johannesburg World Trade Centre, known as The Venue Greenpark.



The 2018 Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards' investigative journalism and story of the year winners on stage.

Former *Muslim News* editor and renowned writer and poet, James Matthews was named the Allan Kirkland Soga Lifetime Achiever Award, while *The Citizen* photographer, Jacques Nelles, was named Upcoming/Rising Star, for his "Picture of parachute: The moon walk".

<



Finalists announced for Sikuvile Awards 28 May 2018

All the winners received R15,000, a trophy and a certificate while all finalists received certificates. Commendation certificates are awarded at the judges' discretion.

Winners

Hard news			
Winners	Title	Company	
Yolande Stander, Lee-Anne Butler, Angela Daniels, Gareth Wilson, Hendrick Mphande	"Knysna Burns"	The Herald	
Columns/Editorial			
Laura Lopez Gonzalez	"Does evil cast a long shadow?"	Bhekisisa / Mail & Guardian	
Enterprise news			
Bongani Fuzile	"We found them" (Miners)	Saturday Dispatch	
Feature writing			

Lucas Ledwaba	Body of work ("The last people stand alone in the face of platinum's bulldozers", "A new Lady Selborne is rising from apartheid's ashes", "A township obliterates a rural life bulldozed by apartheid")	Mail & Guardian
Investigative journalism		
Antoinette Muller; Branko Brkic; Pauli van Wyk; Adriaan Basson; Richard Poplak; Adi Eyal; Mcah Reddy, Susan Comrie; Angelique Serrao; Stefaans Brümmer; Marianne Thamm; Sam Sole; Tabelo Timse; Pieter-Louis Myburgh; Craig McKune; Lionel Faull; Rebecca Davis; Sally Evans; Lester Freamon		Daily Maverick/Amabhungane/News 24
Editorial cartoons		
Jonathan Shapiro	Body of work; "Political Business "	Sunday Times /Daily Maverick
Graphic journalism		
Jaco Grobbelaar	"The life and times of OR Tambo"	Graphics 24, for City Press
Popular journalism		
Angelique Serrao; Pieter du Toit	"Markus Jooste, the blonde polo player and a room with a view"	News 24/ Huffington Post
News photographs		
Bongani Shilubane	"Scramble to register"	Pretoria News
Feature photographs		
Esa Alexander	"Drought and the big thirst"	The Times
Sports photographs		
Ettienne Van Rensburg	"Half and half"	Vaalweekblad
Presentation		
Theuns Kruger	"Kop aan kop"	Graphics 24 for Beeld
Multiplatform		
Elsabé Brits; Rudi Louw; Le Roux Schoeman	"Chris Barnard: Die lewe nalatenskap van 'n mediese pionier"	Netwerk 24

The Frewin, McCall and Joel Mervis Awards winners

The Frewin Award, which recognises urban daily newspapers with a circulation above 40,000, went to *Die Burger* with *Beeld* the runner-up. Commended went to the *Daily Sun*.

Mail and Guardian was awarded the McCall Award, which honours urban daily newspapers with a circulation of 40,000 or less. *The Witness* was the runner-up and *Pretoria News* took commended.

The Joel Mervis Award recognises urban weekly newspapers irrespective of their circulation and a joint award went to *Rapport* and *City Press*. Runner-up is *Naweek Beeld* with *Sunday Sun* taking commended.

Craftsmanship, attention to detail and 'going the extra mile'

Commenting on the awards, convener of judges, Clive Loxton, says the awards recognise a quest for excellence.

They recognise craftsmanship, attention to detail and 'going the extra mile'. We commend the shareholders for their bravery and not inconsiderable investment; in both time and money, to produce a result South Africa can be proud of.

<

He adds that the competition was very fierce in all three categories.



Investigative journalism is evolving as newsrooms continue to shrink 6 Sep 2018

"I'd like to thank my fellow judges – Logan Naidu, Tebogo Serabatse and Linda Rademan – all recognised experts in their fields, for their valuable contribution as well as the PSS for their faultless organisation of the judging set-up," concluded Loxton.

The 2018 judging panel included Dinesh Balliah, Gus Silber, Latiefa Mobara, Mike Siluma, Tyrone August, Phil Mthimkhulu, Pippa Green, Mary Papayya, Neo Ntsoma, Lizeka Mda, Ryland Fisher, Thabo Leshilo, and Liesl Louw-Vaudran.

Follow the <u>#SBSJA18</u> hashtag for the latest updates.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com