

## Combined AdFocus and The Annual Awards take place in November

A new event, The Annual AdFocus Awards, will take place at RoomFive in Rivonia on 26 November 2014. This event is the combination of the *Financial Mail*'s AdFocus Award and the Jeremy Maggs' The Annual awards.

## Thirteen awards will be presented:

- · Digital Agency of the Year, sponsored by Vodacom;
- Student of the Year, sponsored by Nedbank;
- Partnership of the Year, sponsored by Independent Agency Search & Selection (IAS);
- Media Agency of the Year;
- Branding & Design Agency of the Year;
- Specialist Agency of the Year;
- · African Agency Network of the Year;
- · Agency Leader of the Year;
- · New Broom Award for young talent;
- · Envy Award;
- · Agencies' Agency of the Year;
- Advertising Agency of the Year
- Lifetime Achievement Award

The event, to be co-hosted by Maggs and *AdFocus* editor, David Furlonger, is the first step in a partnership that will eventually lead also to a comprehensive, consolidated brand communications publication.

## Successful merger

The integrated event has been welcomed by the advertising industry, which has been critical of the proliferation of awards in recent years. Furlonger says, "Jeremy and I both realise that too many awards can cause confusion, particularly when they bestow the same title on different agencies. We hope our merger will help solve that."



*Financial Mail* editor Tim Cohen observes, "We have always believed in the desirability of a single, credible and comprehensive set of advertising awards. This merger takes us a step closer to that goal."

Maggs adds, "I edited *AdFocus* for six years before starting The Annual with the Future Group and I'm thrilled the circle has closed."

This event is by invitation with a limited number of tickets available for sale. To book, email Marcia Minnaar at <a href="marcia@thefuture.co.za">marcia@thefuture.co.za</a>.