

Call to vote for the Sports Star of the Year for 2012

South Africans are called on to vote by SMS for their favourite athlete in the South African Sports Awards. Nominees are: Vernon Philander, Natalie du Toit, Chad le Clos, Hashim Amla, Oscar Pistorius, Siyabonga Nomvete, and Caster Semenya.



There is no doubt that our Sports Stars are individuals who represent our Nation's pride. And the nominees for this year's South African Sports Star of the Year have brought us some of our most memorable sporting moments in history. They have ascended onto the world stage to win the hearts of millions across the globe, and it is now time for the South African public to vote for their favourite Sport Star of the Year.

Stern competition

Hashim Amla, who was the Sports Star of last year's awards, played a key role in the Proteas' participation in the World T20 International in Sri Lanka. He will face stern competition this year from Paralympics Gold Medallist Natalie du Toit, as well as from Oscar Pistorius who made history this year by being the first double-amputee to compete in both the Olympics and Paralympics; and not to forget the man who brought the country's first Gold Medal at the Olympics, Chad le Clos. Also competing for Sports Star of the Year is Siyabonga Nomvete, who continues to defy age by sheer professionalism on the football pitch, the queen of the track Caster Semenya and Vernon Philander whose cricketing exploits helped the country to be top ranked in its tour to England.

These are the athletes that made it into the top-seven list for the Sports Star of the Year category voted for by ordinary South Africans. Now the voting public need to decide who is the best, by voting via SMS. To vote simply SMS "Sports" followed by the athlete's corresponding letter (A-G) to 33617.

- · A: Vernon Philander
- · B: Natalie du Toit
- · C: Chad le Clos
- · D: Hashim Amla
- E: Oscar Pistorius
- F: Siyabonga Nomvete
- G: Caster Semenya

The Organisers of the SA Sports Awards have set aside R1 million, plus a luxury car for the Sport Star of the Year.

Voting closes on 4 November at 12 noon. The winner of the SA Sports Star of the Year will be announced at an awards evening that evening at the Sandton Convention Centre, Joburg.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com