

2014 TAJ Classic Wine Trophy winners

The 2014 TAJ Classic Wine Trophy was held at the Taj Hotel in Cape Town last week, in association with La Revue du Vin de France, Tonnellerie Claude Gillet, Dorrance Wines, GQ South Africa and Tonnellerie Darnajou.



Image courtesy of John Kasawa / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Winners were selected by a panel of French wine judges, under the auspices of Olivier Poels, editor of La Revue du Vin De France.

The prize for the Most Iconic Entry for 2014 was shared between Morgenster and Hamilton Russell Vineyards. The joint prize is a pair of new barriques sponsored by distinguished coopers Tonnellerie Claude Gillet and Tonnellerie Darnajou.

Winners:

Bubbly

• Villiera Monro Brut 2008

Whites

- De Morgenzon Reserve Chenin Blanc 2013
- Hamilton Chardonnay 2012
- Hamilton Chardonnay 2013
- Whalehaven Chardonnay 2012
- Groot Constantia Chardonnay 2013
- Chamonix Chardonnay Reserve 2012

Reds

- Creation Pinot Noir 2012
- Whalehaven Merlot 2011
- Glen Carlou Grand Classique 2011
- Bellingham The Bernard Series Small Barrel SMV 2012
- Creation Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petit Verdot 2010
- La Motte Pierneef Shiraz Viognier 2011
- Groot Constantia Gouverneur Reserve 2011
- Morgenster 2010
- Morgenster 2003
- Delaire Graff Botmaskop 2012
- The High Road Classic 2010

Sweet