

## Mondi Shanduka Newspaper awards up prize money

In partnership with the Newspaper Association of South Africa, Mondi Shanduka Newsprint announced earlier to week that the prize money for the seventh annual Mondi Shanduka Newspaper Awards has been upped to R15 000 per category. The entry fee structure has also been adjusted from R100 per entrant/team to R30 per categor entered in an effort to encourage a wider range of entrants.



"The credibility of this competition gives entrants a measure of the comparative quality of their journalism," notes Prof Guy Berger, convener of the panel. "The assessment by our panel of judges is respected throughout the industry, for the simpl reason that a more experienced panel of newspaper veterans you will not find."

Berger is joined on the panel by Sarah Crowe, Salie de Swardt, John Dludlu, Ebbe Dommisse, Ivan Fynn, Alf Kumalo, Irw Manoim, Phil Mtimkulu, Kaizer Nyatsumba, Joyce Sikhakhane and Caroline Southey.

Berger adds, "If any journalist thinks his or her work deserves at least a commendation, my advice is: send it in and see h it ranks in this national contest."

## News hound

So, you've spent the year sticking your nose into anything that seems interesting, sniffing around in places you probably shouldn't have and being loyal to what you love. Let's face it, you're a news hound! Do you have what it takes to be 'Top Dog'? Get cracking on that award-winning entry as the deadline will be here before you know it: Friday, 25 January 2008. Entry kits will be distributed by the Newspaper Association; however, they can also be downloaded from www.mondishanduka.co.za.

The categories include Hard News, Analysis and Commentary, Feature Writing, Investigative Journalism, Creative Journalism, Graphical Journalism, Popular Journalism (new), News Photographs, Feature Photographs and Presentation.

Judges will select a winner from the range of entries in the categories to determine the South African Story of the Year ar at their discretion, will nominate an individual for South African Journalist of the Year.

## Lifetime achiever nominations

The newspaper industry is also invited to put forward nominations for the Lifetime Achiever Award, an accolade which see to recognise a sustained and extraordinary contribution to newspaper journalism on the part of an individual.

The awards evening will take place at the Wanderers Club in Illovo, Johannesburg, on 9 April 2008.

Journalists interested in receiving an entry kit may contact Sandipa Shah Seeparsad at Newspaper Association of South Africa on +27 (0)11 721 3200 or .