

2018 Fleur du Cap Theatre Award winners announced

The winners of the 53rd annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards were crowned at the Baxter Theatre in Cape Town on 18 March 2018.



David Dennis in Priscilla, Queen of the Desert - Image by Nardus Engelbrecht

The winners are selected from productions performed at professional theatre venues in and around Cape Town. The awards recognise theatre practitioners for their acting, directing, staging and technical abilities.

A total of 115 productions from the year under review are eligible for consideration. The awards, considered in 26 different categories, include special awards for Lifetime Achievement which went to Alvon Collison, and the Award for Innovation in Theatre was shared by Imbewu Trust and Kunste Onbeperk.

The event was hosted by Africa Melane who was supported by a variety of leading ladies who have previously received the Fleur du Cap Theatre Award, including Lara Foot, Janice Honeyman, Liz Mills, Quanita Adams, Jill Levenberg, Susan Danford, Jennifer Steyn, Celeste Matthews, Sive Gubangxa, Penny Youngleson, Ntomboxolo Makhutshi, Emily Child, Tara-Louise Notcutt, and Daneel van der Walt. The audience included theatremakers, producers, actors, past award recipients, dignitaries, and Fleur du Cap wine brand ambassadors.

The award ceremony was directed by Alistair Izobell and audiences enjoyed performances by female artists Elwira Standili, Salomé Damon, Sasha-Lee Davids, Lucy Tops, Andrea Anthony, Tye Platinum, and the band Sweet Chilli. Assistant director and choreographer Grant van Ster provided the accompanying performances by dancers Luke de Kock, Craig Pedro, Elvis Sibeko, Buyile Narwele, Mikayla Isaacs, Simoné Welgemoed, Gabrielle Botha, and Caitlin Smith.

Five MakuAsh Residency students from Makukhanye Art Room supported the backstage team, as part of their training.

The judges for the 2017 productions were Africa Melane, Dr Beverley Brommert, Eugene Yiga, Johan van Lill, Marina Griebenow, Maurice Carpede, Niel Roux, Tracey Saunders and Wayne Muller. The panel, made up largely of local critics, journalists, writers and drama educators, was chaired by non-voting Melanie Burke. Voting is done by secret ballot, and all processes are strictly overseen and audited by Distell Internal Audit and the legal firm Cluver Markotter Inc.



2018 Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards nominees announced 30 Jan 2018



The full list of winners is as follows:

Award for most promising student Luntu Masiza, AFDA

Best new South African script

What Remains by Nadia Davids

Best new director Nico Scheepers

Best theatre production for children and young people Jon Keevy for *The Underground Library*

Best performance by an ensemble The cast of *What Remains*

Best performance in a revue, cabaret or one-person show Gideon Lombard as Marnus in *Die Reuk van Appels*

Best performance by a supporting actor in a musical or music theatre show Sanda Shandu as Lucky in *King Kong*

Best performance by a supporting actress in a musical or music theatre show Isabella Jane as The Mistress in *Evita*

Best performance by a lead actor in a musical or music theatre show David Dennis as Bernadette in *Priscilla Queen of the Desert*

Best performance by a lead actress in a musical or music theatre show Edith Plaatjies as Joyce in *King Kong*

Best lighting design
Wilhelm Disbergen for What Remains

Best set design
Greg King for Suddenly the Storm

Best costume design Leigh Bishop and Lieze van Tonder for *Twelfth Night*

Best sound design, original music composition or original score Charl-Johan Lingenfelder for Original Music Composition (additional) for *King Kong*

Best performance in an opera – male Lukhanyo Moyake as The Duke of Mantua in *Rigoletto*

Best performance in an opera – female Johanni van Oostrum as Senta in *Der Fliegende Holländer*

Award for innovation in theatre Imbewu Trust and Kunste Onbeperk

Lifetime achievement award Alvon Collison

Best performance by a supporting actor in a play Mark Elderkin as Malvolio in *Twelfth Night*

Best performance by a supporting actress in a play Robyn Scott as Elizabeth I, Ensemble in *Shakespeare in Love*

Best performance by a lead actress in a play Faniswa Yisa as The Archeologist in *What Remains*

Best performance by a lead actor in a play Craig Morris as Tartuffe/Madame Pernelle in *Tartuffe*

Best director
Jay Pather for What Remains

Best production

Marat/Sade - The Baxter Theatre (Nicolette Moses)

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com