

## Chad le Clos voted Sports Star of the Year

The winners of The SA Sports Awards, which honours South Africa's sporting greats, up-and-coming talent and the federations, schools and administrators that turn our youths into future sports stars, have been announced. Swimmer Chad le Clos won top honour as Sports Star of the Year.



"Our sporting heroes are our nation's pride," remarked Minister Fikile Mbalula, Minister of Sports and Recreation. "They continually represent our country at an extremely high level and are some of our best ambassadors. Tonight at the SA Sports Awards we honoured all the Sports Stars big and small the way they deserve to be honoured, as stars."

Chad le Clos was announced as Sports Star of the Year as voted for by the South African public. "Chad has not only won the heart of South Africans, but millions around the globe. His achievements at the Olympics have ascended him onto the world stage," remarked Minister Mbalula.

Other category wins and highlights included Vernon Philander as Sportsman of the Year. Oscar Pistorius, who made history this year by being the first double-amputee to compete in both the Olympics and Paralympics, was announced as Sportsman of the Year with a Disability, whilst the recently retired swimmer Natalie du Toit was Sportswoman of the Year with a disability. Caster Semenya was Sportswoman of the Year, and up-and-coming rugby star Siyamthanda Kolisi was Newcomer of the Year. The South African Rowing Team affectionately known as the "awesome foursome" was the Team of the Year.

## The winners

- · Sports Star of the Year: Chad le Clos swimming
- Sportsman of the Year: Vernon Philander cricket
- Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Oscar Pistorius athletics
- · Sportswoman of the Year: Caster Semenya athletics
- Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit swimming
- Team of the Year: Rowing
- Administrator of the Year: Wimpie du Plessis rowing
- Newcomer of the Year: Siyamthanda Kolisi rugby
- · Coach of the Year: Joseph Mkhonza Banyana Banyana
- Indigenous Games of the Year: Team KZN KZN Indigenous Games Council
- Federation of the Year: Rowing South Africa
- Journalist of the Year: Velile Mbuli SABC
- Photographer of the Year: Sydney Seshibedi The Star
- School Team of the Year: Ithembelihle Comprehensive School SA Rugby

- Developing School Team of the Year: Nkunzimbini Junior Secondary School African Football Championship
- Best Recreation Body of the Year: Vhakhegula Vhakhegula Limpopo Grannies in Football
- Volunteer of the Year: Sondiso Magajana judo

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com