BIZCOMMUNITY

FNB Coffee Magazine Awards announces 2019 winners

This year's FNB *Coffee Magazine* Awards announced its winners at a prestigious gala dinner hosted at Durban's Waterfront Hotel on Saturday, 29 June.



Barista of the Year went to Similikiwe Mkhize of Rosetta Roastery. Warren Fenner (RVB) and Jayendran Fillay (FNB) delivered the award to uproarious applause from the crowd.

Cape Town's Rosetta Roastery and Johannesburg's Bean There Coffee Company walked away with top honours. Rosetta Roastery won the Roastery of the Year award with their head barista, Simnikiwe Mkhize, taking home the coveted Barista of the Year award. Bean There Coffee Company was named Team of the Year with the company's Cuth Bland taking home the coveted Excellence in Coffee Award.

"I can't believe it!" said Mkhize, addressing 200 invited delegates at the awards' ceremony. "This award is because of my team, my customers and my friends." Mkhize, who is originally from Durban, is also the reigning Western Cape Barista Champion and the 2017 KZN Barista Champion.

The FNB Coffee Magazine Awards were initiated in 2018 to bring South African coffee professionals together while recognising and celebrate excellence within the industry.

2019 FNB Coffee Magazine Award winners

Dedication to Education Award Dave Bassett - Woza Coffee Best Cafe Design Pauline's

Excellence in Coffee Award Cuth Bland - Bean There Coffee Company

Best New Café Holiday Coffee

Best New Roastery Bluebird Coffee Roastery

Readers Choice Award for Favourite Café Fàbrica Cafe

Readers Choice Award for Favourite Franchise Seattle Coffee Co

Best Alternative Brewing Experience Origin Coffee Roasting

Barista Trainer of the Year Belinda Flynn - Flynn Coffee

Coffee Personality of the Year Winston Thomas - Winston Douglas Consulting

Coffee Team of the Year Bean There Coffee Company

Cafe of the Year Thirdspace

Roastery of the Year Rosetta Roastery

Barista of the Year Simnikiwe Mkhize - Roasetta Roastery

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com