

## SAPOA celebrates property journalists

On 15 May 2013, the 45th annual SAPOA International Convention and Property Exhibition at Sun City saw the announcement of the winners of this year's SAPOA Property Journalism Awards, recognising high achievers in SA's property media.



The winners for 2013 are: Micel Schnehage of Moneyweb for Property News Journalist of the Year; Kerry Dimmer of Earthworks South for Property Feature Journalist of the Year; SA Real Estate Investor Magazine for Property Printed Publication of the Year; and SA Commercial Prop News for Property Online News of the Year.

## Strictly high standards

"Excellence in reporting is more than delivering a good story. It's about exceeding standard requirements," says SAPOA CEO Neil Gopal.

The judging panel, chosen for their fresh perspectives and insight, were uncompromising in their expectations of quality. This year, the five-person judging panel included Angelique de Rauville of a Handful of Keys, Aku Beke of Crane Construction Consultants, Vernon Matzopoulos of Summit TV, Mahomed Soobader of PD Naidoo & Associates, and Capstone Property Group's Brian Azizollahoff, who also serves as chairman of the SAPOA Property Journalism Awards Committee.

"Each entry is judged along a stringent set of criteria that includes accuracy, clarity and consistency," explains Azizollaho

## **Outstanding achievers**

Schnehage won the coveted Property News Journalist of the Year award for her tenacity, quality journalism, newsworthy content and careful investigation. Special mentions went to both Elma Kloppers of Sake24/Beeld and Denise Mhlanga fron Property24.

Dimmer's fresh new style of writing and thought-provoking articles clinched her Property Feature Journalist of the Year. Joan Muller of the Financial Mail received a special mention in this category.

The Property Printed Publication of the Year went to SA Real Estate Investor for its highly relevant articles and accessible information for everyday investors, with a special mention going to Shopping SA.

Comprehensive and topical information combined with visual appeal scooped the Property Online News of the Year award for SA Commercial Prop News, for the second year in a row. Special mention in this category went to Eprop online news.

The two winning journalists each walked away with R10,000 in prize money and a trophy, while the winning publications ear received trophies for their achievements.

The Awards were sponsored by PD Naidoo & Associates, Crane Construction Consultants, Standard Bank, Encha Properties, Dube TradePort, Remote Metering Solutions, and Capital Property Fund.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com