

Awards competition for community journos opens

Community journalists are called upon to enter the 2011 <u>Sanlam/MDDA Local Media Awards</u> before Friday, 15 July 2011. The awards aim to encourage excellence and reward meritorious work in community journalism and broadcasting in the period 1 June 2010 to 31 May 2011.

The competition is run under the auspices of the Print Media of South Africa (PMSA) and Sanlam, the FCJ (Forum of Community Journalists) and the MDDA (Media Development and Diversity Agency). The awards dinner is planned for 21 October 2011.

Media sectors

The awards recognise the following sub sectors/categories of local media:

- Community media in terms of the MDDA Act, means any media project that is owned and controlled by a community
 where any financial surplus generated is reinvested in the media project; and "community" means a geographically
 founded community or any group of persons or sector of the public having a specific ascertainable common interest;
- Small commercial media (SMME) in terms of the MDDA Act, means independent media enterprises or initiatives that are run for personal gain as micro, very small or small businesses as classified in the National Small Business Act, 1996 (Act No. 102 of 1996);
- Big corporate owned local media local distributed media by corporate media owners such as Caxton, Media24,
 AVUSA and Independent Newspapers.

Judging

The judges are all seasoned professionals, are not associated with Sanlam or the MDDA and have been appointed in consultation with the MDDA and the Forum of Community Press Journalists. They may co-opt additional judges. Unless merit or circumstances dictate otherwise, there will be only one winner per section. The adjudicators are free to recommend that additional awards be made.

Categories

There are six categories, each with various sections:

Print Media

- 2. Front pages
- 3. Writing
- 4. Photography
- 5. Broadcast Media
- 6. Radio
- 7. Television

The Alet Roux Medal of Honour will be awarded to the most promising newcomer (less than three years' experience) who made it into the top twenty of the Journalist of the Year section.

- 1. Category Newspapers
- a. Corporate-owned paid newspapers
- b. Corporate-owned free sheets
- c. Small independent commercial newspapers (not owned by any of the major media groups): Emerging (existing for less than five (5) years)
- d. Small independent commercial newspapers (not owned by any of the major media groups): Established (existing for five (5) years or longer)
- e. Community media / grassroots
- f. Cronwright Trophy for newspapers with circulation above 10 000
- g. Hulzer Trophy for newspapers with circulation above 10 000
- 2. Category front pages
- a. Corporate-owned paid newspapers
- b. Corporate-owned freesheets
- c. Small independent commercial newspapers (not owned by any of the major media groups): Emerging (existing for less than five (5) years)
- d. Small independent commercial newspapers (not owned by any of the major media groups): Established (existing for five (5) years or longer)
- e. Community media / grassroots
- 3. Category Writing

The sections are (maximum articles in brackets):

- a. Journalist of the Year (20, including follow-ups)
- b. Investigative reporting (ONE newsbreaking report, plus all its follow-up reports)
- c. Hard news / Local government (5)
- d. Focus on people Human interest (5)
- e. Personal finance / business / consumer education (5)
- f. Editorial comment (5)
- g. Medical and health matters (e.g. HIV/Aids, Lifestyle) (5)
- h. Columns (5)
- i. Sport (5)
- j. Headlines (5)
- 4. Category Photography

The sections are (maximum number of photos in brackets):

- a. Press Photographer of the Year (6)
- b. News (5)
- c. Feature (5)
- d. Portraits (faces) (5)
- e. Sport (5)
- f. General interest (only for community / grassroots media) (5)

- 5. Category Radio
- a. Best Community Radio Station
- b. Excellence in Broadcasting in Indigenous Languages
- c. Excellence in in-depth News Coverage and Current Affairs
- d. Excellence in Investigative Journalism
- 6. Category Television
- a. Section Best Community TV Station

Criteria

The entry forms, rules and judging criteria as determined by the MDDA and FCJ, are being revised and will soon be available at www.sanlam.co.za as well as at www.mdda.org.za. For more information on the print side of the competition, call Hugo Redelinghuys on tel +27(0)21 947 3393 or email hugo.redelinghuys@sanlam.co.za. For radio and television information, call Kgomotso Moeketsi on tel +27 (0)11 643-1125 or email kgomotso@mdda.org.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com