

Finalists selected for journalism awards

The 2017 Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards, sponsored by Standard Bank and hosted by PSS, have selected the journalist finalists from 328 entries into the 14 categories, with 41 titles in the running.



© PSS Facebook

Finalists:

Category 1: Hard News

Name	Title	Publication
Frank Maponya and Sandile Ndlovu	School of horrors	Sowetan
Mzilikazi wa Afrika	High commissioner exposed as drug mule	Sunday Times
Mzilikazi wa Afrika	Mnister smuggles friend on state jet	Sunday Times

Category 2: Columns / Editorial

Name	Title	Publication
Phillip de Wet	Winegum racism	Mail & Guardian
Mondli Makhanya	Tragic fall of Brian	City Press
Adriaan Basson	Decoding Pravin Gordhan	News24

Category 3: Enterprise News

Name	Title	Publication
Laura Lopez Gonzalez	The big chill: Health posts freeze threatens services	Health-E News/Daily Maverick
Lisa Steyn	From boom to bust in five years	Mail & Guardian
The Star Women's Team 2016	The rise of women's power	The Star

Category 4: Feature Writing

Name	Title	Publication
Estelle Ellis	Shock closure of frail care centres and Toxic river spill	The Herald
Shaun Smillie	Raising private Molo	The Times

Hanlie Retief	Apartheid was 'n familliekwaal	Rapport
Hlengiwe Nhlabathi	Mashaba: Mayor in waiting	City Press

Category 5: Investigative Journalism

Name	Title	Publication
Suzanne Venter	Life Esidimeni	Rapport
Sipho Masondo	Watergate	City Press
Mzilikazi wa Afrika	Mnister smuggles a friend on state jet	Sunday Times

Category 6: Editorial Cartoons

Name	Title	Publication
Brandan Eugene Reynolds	Body of work	Rapport
Jonathan Shapiro	Body of work	M&G
Wilson Mgobhozi	Body of work	The Star

Category 7: Graphic Journalism

Name	Title	Publication
Lebohang Elvin Nethononda	Soweto uprising 1976	The Star
Rudi Louw	2016 F1 World championship	Graphics24 for City Press
Jaco Grobbelaar	Guptas strike black gold	Graphics24 for City Press

Category 8: Popular Journalism

Name	Title	Publication
Stephen Molobi	Pastor Doom	Daily Sun
Philani Mzila	Meet Nathi's nyatsi	Sunday Sun
Norman Masungwini	Mapona Minister	Sunday Sun

Category 9: News Photographs

Name	Title	Publication
Alon Skuy	Cliff/Dali/Oscar	The Times
Phando Jikelo	Grabouw Meyhem	Cape Times
Motshwari Mofokeng	Youth gone off the rails	Daily News

Category 10: Feature Photographs

Name	Title	Publication
Phando Jikelo	Blind and in despair amid hardship	Cape Times
Jaco Marais	Freedom through art	Die Burger
Leon Sadiki	I'm the celebrity love	City Press

Category 11: Sports Photographs

Name	Title	Publication
Alon Skuy	Caleb's quest for the stage	The Times
Phando Jikelo	BlitzBoks fall at final hurdle	Daily News

Category 12: Presentation

Name Title Publication

Vuyo Singiswa and Sarah Buitenbach	FM covers 2016	Financial Mail
Narianan Nelandri	June 16: 40 Years on	The Star

Category 13: Multiplatform

Name	Title	Publication
Athandiwe Saba; Delwyn Verasamy and Malcolm Sekgothe	Unitrans stall over vital back pay	Mail & Guardian
Liesl Pretorius; Ross Eyre; Lailah Ryklief; Ray Joseph	Dying for a toilet	City Press
Graeme Hosken; Alon Skuy, Boikhutso Ntsoko	#DeathDrive	The Times/TimesLive

Category 14: Multimedia

Name	Title	Publication
Le Roux Schoeman	Kan jy van snoek alleen oorleef	Netwerk24.com
Susan Comrie	Pushing heroin	City Press Online
Jerusha Sukhdeo-Raath	Frontline – In conversation with	News24

To be announced at award evening:

As per tradition, categories 15 to 18 will only be announced at the Awards ceremony, which will take place on Thursday, 19 October 2017 at The Venue Greenpark (also known as Johannesburg World Trade Centre) in Sandton, Gauteng.

Category 15: 'SA Story of the Year'

Category 16: 'Upcoming/ Rising Star of the Year'

Category 17: 'Journalist of the Year'

Category 18: Allan Kirkland Soga Lifetime Achiever Award

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com