🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards open for entries next week

The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards open for entries on 2 June 2014 and close at 6pm on 30 June 2014. Submissions must have been produced between 1 May 2013 and 30 May 2014.

The awards acknowledge journalists who have shown commitment to reporting excellence across media platforms. Regional category winners will receive R5,000 each, national category winners will receive R10,000 each, with the coveted and the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Award winner will receive R100,000.

Categories

- Television general news
- Television feature
- Print general news
- Print feature
- Radio general news
- Radio feature
- Financial/economic news
- Sport
- CSI/sustainability
- Social media
- Photography

Editors can also nominate their candidates for the Editor's Choice Award and the judging panel will vote for the Lifetime Achiever's Award, which recognises the lifetime contribution made by a single individual to journalism and media in this country.

Judging panel, award ceremony

Mary Papayya will convene a judging panel made up of some of South Africa's most experienced journalists: Elna Rossouw, Collin Nxumalo, Arthur Goldstuck, Professor Johann de Wet, Joe Thloloe, Ryland Fisher, Patricia McCracken and Megan Rusi.

The national award ceremony will be held in Johannesburg on 31 October 2014. "We are looking forward to hosting South Africa's top achievers in journalism again this year, and being able to showcase the fine work produced by the media in our country," said Maya Makanjee, chief officer for corporate affairs at Vodacom Group. "We'd particularly like to invite journalists from community and smaller radio stations and publications to enter their work."

For more information, go to http://journalist.vodacom.co.za.

