## 🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

## **UCT names Distinguished Teacher Awards**

The Distinguished Teacher Awards is the highest accolade awarded throughout the University of Cape Town (UCT), with a maximum of four recipients recognised each year.



© globalphoto - <u>123RF.com</u>

This year, Dr Joanne Hardman - School of Education, Associate Professor Jacqui Kew - College of Accounting, Dr Azila Reisenberger - School of Languages and Literature and Dr Adam West - Biological Sciences were acknowledged.

In addition, two UCT academics have been selected to receive the National Excellence in Teaching Award for 2015. This is a project of the Higher Education Learning and Teaching Association of Southern Africa (HELTASA), in collaboration with the Council of Higher Education (CHE). Five National Teaching Excellence Awards and Six National Teaching Excellence Commendations have been allocated for 2015.

Gwamaka Mwalemba, Associate Professor Elsje Scott and Carolyn McGibbon - Faculty of Commerce, received an award for Excellent Team Teaching and Professor Delawir Kahn - Department of Surgery received a commendation for his contribution to teaching and learning.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com