

Standard Group's Roselyn Obala elected Journalist Association's chairperson

Standard Group's Roselyn Obala defeated the *Star*'s Gideon Keter in an election on Friday, becoming the new chairperson of a journalists' association.



The Kenya Parliamentary Journalist Association is a professional body of journalists covering parliamentary affairs. Obala, who replaces *Daily Nation*'s Caroline Wafula, garnered 17 votes and Keter 14, while her colleague Moses Njagi got two.

QFM's Edwin Obuya trounced his colleague Kennedy Murithi becoming deputy chairperson. Obuya, who is the association's first vice chairperson, garnered 24 votes against Murithi's 10.

Keter made a surprise comeback as organising secretary with 18 votes, outclassing David Choge of Kass FM who got 14. The secretary position was closely contested with *Daily Nation*'s Jeremiah Kiplagat carrying the day after managing 14 votes.

He was closely followed by the *Star*'s David Mwere with 13 votes, while Dinah Odari of the *People Daily* was third with 6 votes. The treasurer position was a smooth sail for Capital FM's Laban Wanambisi who garnered 28 votes while Odari got two.

Capital FM's Jane Goin beat ATG's Aron Ndonya and GBS' Eric Munene to bag the deputy secretary position; they got 25, 4 and 2 votes respectively. Nation FM's George Okachi retained his Liaison committee member position, defeating People Daily's Mercy Mwai; he got 22 votes against Mwai's 8.

Speaking on behalf of the new team, incoming chairperson Obala promised to spur the association to the next level.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com