

Journalism Awards judges, categories out now - register by end June

The <u>Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards</u>, formerly known as the Mondi Shanduka Newspaper Awards, has announced the judges and entry categories for this year's competition, which closes for entries on 29 June 2012. A new category is available for online journalism.



Judging will take place on 5-6 July 2012 and the awards will be presented on 28 August 2012.

Judges

The Judging Panel consists of journalists, with expertise in the categories of the competition:

- Paula Fray (convenor)
- · David Wightman
- · Gail Smith
- · Henry Jeffreys
- Joao Silva
- Liesl Louw
- Matthew Buckland
- Mike Siluma
- Peter Sullivan
- Thabo Leshilo
- Tumi Makgabo
- Tyrone August

Categories

Finalists receive a certificate and each winner receives R15 000 in cash, a trophy and certificate.

- 2. Analysis, Commentary and Background
- 3. Enterprise News
- 4. Feature Writing
- 5. Investigative Journalism
- 6. Creative Journalism
- 7. Editorial Cartoons
- 8. Graphic Journalism
- 9. Popular Journalism
- 10. News Photographs
- 11. Feature Photographs
- 12. Sports Photographs
- 13. Presentation (layout and design)
- 14. South African Story of the Year
- 15. Online Reportage
- 16. Online Multimedia

Other prizes

- Allan Kirkland Soga Achievement Award honours a sustained (20 years minimum) and extraordinary contribution to newspaper journalism on the part of an individual. The winner will have demonstrated impeccable ethics and craft excellence.
- Frewin Award, which has been in existence 63 years, recognises urban daily newspapers with a circulation above 50 000 that excel in the criteria laid down by the industry.
- McCall Award, which has been in existence for 51 years, recognises urban daily newspapers with a circulation of 50
 000 or less that excel in the criteria laid down by the industry.
- Mervis Award, which has been in existence for the past 17 years and recognises urban weekly newspapers irrespective of their circulation that excel in the criteria laid down by the industry.

Submit entries by registered post, courier or hand deliver to Malesedi Dlamini, Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards, second Floor, 7 St Davids Park, St Davids Place, Parktown, 2193.

For more, go to www.printmedia.org.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com