## BIZCOMMUNITY

## Jurors announced for SA Car of the Year competition

The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) announced the jury and trainee jury members for the 2019 AutoTrader South African Car Of The Year.



The criteria for Jury eligibility includes:

- All candidates must be members in good standing with the SAGMJ
- A full member must have completed a minimum of one year of jury training. Full members who do not comply with this requirement will be considered for the jury training programme
- A Jury member must be active members of the SAGMJ for a minimum of five years
- A jury member must be an industry-recognised journalist who has participated in the industry by attending manufacturer launch events, and/or by driving test vehicles during the eligibility period
- Not more than two individual full members from the same publication may serve on the jury.

Following a vote by the full membership of the SAGMJ, the following members of the guild have been nominated and vetted as the jury and trainees for the 2019 competition, and have confirmed their participation: 2019 South African Car Of The Year Jurors (in alphabetical order)

- 1. Carl Wepener
- 2. Charleen Clarke
- 3. Colin Windell
- 4. Derek Watts
- 5. Dirk Gallowitz
- 6. Egmont Sippel
- 7. Ferdi de Vos
- 8. Francisco Nwamba
- 9. Gerrie Smit
- 10. Hannes Visser
- 11. Janine-Lee van der Post
- 12. Jason Woosey
- 13. Jeanette Kok-Kritzinger

- 14. Justus Visagie
- 15. Lerato Matebese
- 16. Mabuyane Kekana
- 17. Marnus Hattingh
- 18. Pritesh Ruthun
- 19. Ray Leathern
- 20. Reuben van Niekerk
- 21. Roger McCleery
- 22. Rubin van Niekerk
- 23. Sean Nurse
- 24. Stuart Johnston
- 25. Wynter Murdoch

Reserve Juror: Liana Reiners

2019 South African Car Of The Year Trainee Jurors (in alphabetical order)

- 1. Lawrence Smith
- 2. Melinda Ferguson
- 3. Sergio Davids
- 4. Sisanda Mbete
- 5. Vuyi Mpofu

The criteria for trainee jury eligibility includes:

- All candidates must be members in good standing with the SAGMJ
- Trainee jury members must be active members of the SAGMJ for a minimum of three years
- A trainee jury member must be an industry-recognised journalist who has participated in the industry by attending manufacturer launch events, and/or by driving test vehicles during the eligibility period.

The eligibility period for vehicle ranges that may be considered for the 2019 AutoTrader South African Car Of The Year competition closes at midnight on 31 October 2018. Shortly, full members of the SAGMJ will have the opportunity to cast their vote to determine which of these vehicle ranges will be the competition's semi-finalists, after which the jury will cast their vote on the semi-finalists in order to determine the finalists for the 2019 AutoTrader South African Car Of The Year competition.

The finalist announcement is scheduled for November (final date to be determined), and from 11-12 March 2019, the jury will put the finalists through stringent testing.



The SA Guild of Motoring Journalists is the custodian of the South African Car Of The Year competition since 1986, a longstanding heritage of awarding automotive excellent. AutoTrader, the new headline sponsor, will undoubtedly bring fresh energy and a more youthful and forward-thinking approach to what is, and has always been, the most prestigious car competition in South Africa.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com