Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

Assegai Awards 2014 open for entry online

The DMASA Assegai Integrated Marketing Awards are now open for entry and this year, the submissions will be online. The closing date for submissions is 15 September 2014.
Organised by the Direct Marketing Association of Southern Africa and sponsored by the South African Post Office, the awards are South Africa's premier interactive and direct (data driven) marketing awards. They recognise and reward campaigns that deliver exceptional results, while ensuring compliance and accountability within the industry.

Simplifying the entry process

The judging process has been updated into a two phased approach. This will ensure consistency, balance and add depth and experience to the judging panel.

Alastair Tempest, COO of the DMASA, says, "We believe online simplifies the entry process. It means that while care and consideration need to be taken when completing entries, there is no mad dash through the Jo'burg traffic. It also means that the logistics for any regional entries are minimal. The awards continue to recognise the incredible creativity of local designers and to challenge the perception of direct marketing in South Africa."

Janras Kotsi, group executive: mail business of the South African Post Office says, "We look forward to the entries this year, as not only have the entry criteria been simplified, but a number of new categories have been introduced. It's an exciting time, and we look forward to serious contenders in these new categories delivering a memorable brand promise with significant return on investment."

New categories

Some of the new categories that have been introduced include ecommerce and mobile marketing: interactive. It is estimated that there are 45 million active cell phones in South Africa, making mobile communication channels an important part of direct data driven marketing.

Another new category included is 'use of new technologies' for an inspiring and effective marriage of both creative and technological developments, to produce an exciting and successful campaign. These and other new categories will additionally complement the depth and experience that the awards currently acknowledges.

For more information, go to or e-mail .